Thursday, 3 July 2014

8.45–9.05am Session 1: Opening

Professor Glyn Davis AC, Vice-Chancellor, The University of Melbourne

Mr Paul Kelly, Editor-at-Large, The Australian

  • Listen to the recording
9.05–10.40am Session 2: Facing the Headwinds
Chair Professor Judith Sloan, Honorary Professorial Fellow, Melbourne Institute and Contributing Editor, The Australian

Professor Warwick McKibbin, ANU Chair in Public Policy, ANU Centre for Applied Macroeconomic Analysis, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU College of Asia and the Pacific, The Australian National University

Mr Chris Richardson, Director, Deloitte Access Economics

Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark, Ronald Henderson Professor and Director, Melbourne Institute

11.00am–12.30pm Session 3: Sustainable Budgeting: Tailoring What We Want To What We’ll Pay For
Chair Professor Gary Banks AO, Dean, Australia and New Zealand School of Government

The Hon Chris Bowen MP, Shadow Treasurer

Dr Peter J. Boxall AO, Chairman, Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal

Professor John Daley, Chief Executive Officer, Grattan Institute

Chair Mr David Uren, Economics Editor, The Australian

The Hon Joe Hockey MP, Treasurer

  • Listen to Treasurer Joe Hockey’s lunchtime keynote address
2.10–3.40pm Session 4: Concurrent
  Session 4A: How to get Early Childhood Education Right
Chair Mr Mark Burford, Executive Director, Mitchell Institute of Health and Education Policy

The Hon Sussan Ley MP, Assistant Minister for Education

Ms Julia Davison, Chief Executive Officer, Goodstart Early Learning

Professor Stephen Zubrick, Winthrop Professor, Centre for Child Health Research, University of Western Australia

  Session 4B: Can the Commonwealth Drive Infrastructure?

The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP, Minister for Communications

Mr Paul Broad, Managing Director and CEO, Snowy Hydro Limited

Professor Henry Ergas, Senior Economic Adviser, Deloitte Australia and Professor of Infrastructure Economics, SMART Infrastructure Facility, University of Wollongong

  Session 4C: Trade and Investment: How to Build Regional Relationships
Chair Professor Ross Garnaut AO, Professorial Research Fellow, Melbourne Institute, The University of Melbourne

Senator Penny Wong, Shadow Minister for Trade and Investment

Professor Kerry Brown, Executive Director, China Studies Centre, The University of Sydney

Mr Andrew Michelmore, Chief Executive Officer, MMG Limited

4.00–5.20pm Session 5: End of the Age of Entitlement (Panel Session)
Chair Ms Patricia Karvelas, Victorian Editor and Bureau Chief, The Australian

The Hon Kevin Andrews MP, Minister for Social Services

The Hon Jenny Macklin MP, Shadow Minister for Families and Payment and Disability Reform

  • Listen to the session online
7.00 for 7.30pm Conference Dinner

Mr Paul Kelly, Editor-at-Large, The Australian

The Hon Tony Abbott MP, Prime Minister of Australia

Friday, 4 July 2014

8.30–10.00am Session 6: Changing Climate on Climate Change
Chair Mr Michael Woods, Deputy Chair, Productivity Commission (Chair)

The Hon Greg Hunt MP, Minister for the Environment

Professor Ross Garnaut AO, Vice-Chancellor’s Fellow and Professorial Research Fellow, The University of Melbourne

Mr Matthew Warren, Chief Executive Officer, Energy Supply Association of Australia

10.20am–12.00pm Session 7: Concurrent
Session 7A: The Productive Workplace
Chair Dr Matthew Butlin, Chair, Victorian Competition and Efficiency Commission

Professor Peter Gahan, Professor of Management and Director, Centre for Workplace Leadership, The University of Melbourne

Professor Judith Sloan, Honorary Professorial Fellow, Melbourne Institute and Contributing Editor, The Australian

Mr Tim Lyons, Deputy Secretary, Australian Council of Trade Unions

Session 7B: Putting Incentive Back Into Federation

Dr Pradeep Philip, Secretary, Department of Health

Mr Richard Bolt, Secretary, Department of Education and Early Childhood Development

Professor Stephen Duckett, Director, Health Program, Grattan Institute

Dr Vince FitzGerald, Director, ACIL Allen Consulting

Session 7C: Wrong Tax System for the Digital Age

Professor Kevin Davis, Professor of Finance, Department of Finance, The University of Melbourne

Mr Rob Heferen, Executive Director, Revenue Group, Department of the Treasury

Professor Chris Evans, Professor of Taxation, Atax, Australian School of Business, The University of New South Wales

Mr Alf Capito, Senior Tax Partner and Leader, Tax Policy Group in Asia Pacific, Ernst & Young

12.10–1.30pm Lunch

Professor Glyn Davis AC, Vice-Chancellor, The University of Melbourne

The Hon Bill Shorten MP, Leader of the Opposition

1.40–3.00pm Session 8: Concurrent
Session 8A: Financing the Future

Associate Professor Sam Wylie, Principal Fellow, Melbourne Business School

Dr Luci Ellis, Head, Financial Stability, Reserve Bank of Australia

Mr Barry Sterland PSM, Group Executive, Macroeconomic Group (International), Department of the Treasury

Dr Carsten Murawski, Senior Lecturer, Department of Finance, The University of Melbourne

Session 8B: Bringing Outsiders In
Chair Mr Tony Nicholson, Executive Director, Brotherhood of St Laurence

Mr Warren Mundine, Managing Director, NyunggaBlack and Chair, Prime Minister’s Indigenous Advisory Council

Mr Patrick McClure, Governance and Strategy Consultant, Institute of Strategic Management

Dr Cassandra Goldie, Chief Executive, Australian Council of Social Service

Session 8C: Sources of Comparative Advantage
Chair Professor Paul Kofman, Dean, Faculty of Business and Economics, The University of Melbourne

Dr Brian Fisher AO PSM, Managing Director, BAEconomics

Mr Martin Ferguson AM, Group Executive of Natural Resources, Seven Group Holdings Limited

Mr Mick Keogh, Executive Director, Australian Farm Institute

3.00–3.10pm Afternoon Tea
3.10–4.00pm Session 9: The Political Economy of Achieving Reform
Chair Mr Paul Kelly, Editor-at-Large, The Australian

Senator Nick Xenophon, Independent Senator for South Australia

Mr Terry Moran AC, National President and National Fellow, Institute of Public Administration Australia

Mr Michael Woods, Deputy Chairman, Productivity Commission

4.00pm Close